Martial Arts Laws that Make You Blink!


Newsletter 738
Martial Arts Laws that Make You Slap Your Head and go ‘Doh!’

Okay,
here’s the headlines:
In Republic, Michigan…
Women over 200 pounds
and wearing shorts,
may not practice the martial arts
while men are present!

kenpo karate system training manual

How to analyze and handle Kenpo Karate

I’m not kidding. I saw it on the net,
so it must be true.
And if you’re a gal
over 200 pounds
don’t complain to me,
complain to the town council
at Republic, Michigan.
Or just don’t workout around men.

Ready for another headline?
In Jefferson, Idaho…
Women can’t take Karate lessons in a bathing suit
unless they are accompanied by the police
or have a club!
This law doesn’t apply
if the lady is under 90 pounds or over 200 pounds,
and it certainly doesn’t apply to female horses.
Oh, I ain’t kiddin’!

And I hope you don’t think I’m sexist,
here’s a headline about drunks!
(Does that make me a drunkist?)
In Cotton, Minnesota…
You may not work out in cotton pants with hip pockets!
Well, of course.
Hip pockets are just a little too convenient
for carrying a pint of alcohol.
And who among us,
during the sweat and bruises of a good work out,
doesn’t need to stop and swill a bit of courage?
Eh?

I read these headlines on the net,
can’t guarantee the veracity of them,
or even whether they are true,
but they sure do make you think.
I mean,
thank God for politicians.
It’s obvious they have our best interests at heart,
and they sure are making us safe
by passing laws like these.

And, speaking of thinking,
I was talking to Master Instructor Kurt Nelle’,
we were talking about the Kenpo Karate series,
and I asked him to give me a quick report.
Here it is…

Al, I just finished reading the 1st Kenpo Karate book and as requested I am doing a little book report.  I found the History both fascinating and refreshing. I have found that Kenpo history given by the various main stream Kenpo schools,(Parker, Tracy etc), tend to flatter them selves. I appreciate an honest history from someone who was there closer to the start of Kenpo in America.

Next I move on to main text of the book. My Kenpo instructor did come out of the Parker School however, he did not teach the Parker Forms or any forms for that matter. He only taught the self defense and fighting techniques as well as Kenpo Concepts just as you do in this book. You however, have taken it a step further. My Instructor taught the techniques exactly as they were found in the forms. You clean them up and make them more practical. I really appreciated this as I like a 1,2,3 technique as opposed to traditional Kenpo Overkill concept.

While reading over the Techniques and animation in the first book, something clicked in my memory. I went and reviewed the “Lines” section of the Matrix Tai Chi Program. Your explanation of the Karate Basics being found in Tai Chi led me to review the Matrix and  Five Army forms, as well as the Chang Man Ching, Yang and Chang Tung Shun Tai Chi forms that I also practice and teach. There within the sequences of all those forms were found the Kenpo applications. Not the traditional Overkill applications but the streamlined applications as presented in your Kenpo book. I don’t know if this was intended on your part or rather a happy coincidence. Either way, I have decided to use Tai Chi Forms as the only forms in my Kenpo. Its all in there, I just needed something to connect all the dots and that something is your three book series on Kenpo Karate!

Well that’s my book report. I’m moving on to the second and third books now, thank you for writing them!

Respectfully, Kurt

Thank you Kurt.

And if anybody else has a book report,
on any of my books,
feel free to send it in.
I can use what you write
to help people understand what is in my books,
and I’ll send you a freebie of
‘The 500 Martial Arts Articles’
in exchange.
It’s in PDF,
so you can read them right on your computer.

Now,
last things last,
my thanks to Omar,
he wrote in and complained,
said he wasn’t getting my newsletters.

I realized,
after I chatted with him,
that he might have been saying
that I am just not writing my newsletters
often enough.
I usually try to write two a week,
but I have probably been slacking.
I’ll try to get back to that,
and if I don’t,
feel free to complain.

You know
complaints are funny things.
Most people don’t want them.
I want them…fast.
They tell me when I messed up,
they apprise me of my mistakes,
and allow me to fix mistakes
before they become serious misunderstandings.
Business or personal.
And you know what the Neutronic viewpoint
of mistakes is…
Mistakes are an opportunity to learn.
So show me my mistakes,
and I’ll be grateful.

Now,
think that’s about it.
Got any questions,
or contentions,
shoot me an email,
it inspires me on the newsletters
and other things I write.

Check out the Kenpo books,
there are three of them,
and the first is here…

http://www.amazon.com/How-Create-Kenpo-Karate-History/dp/1500930253/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1413151594&sr=8-3&keywords=how+to+create+kenpo

Have yourself a great work out!

Al

http://www.amazon.com/Matrixing-Tong-Bei-Internal-Gung/dp/1507869290/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1423678613&sr=8-1&keywords=tong+bei

Leave a Reply

