How to be a Master of Karate Kicking!


Newsletter 737
Mastering Kicking in the Karate

This truly is a great morning,
you know?
I mean,
the chance to work out,
one more time!
The odd thing is
after a lifetime of work outs
one would think they would blend together
and mush up in your mind.
But the truth is the opposite,
each work out becomes more and more unique,
more singular,
more stand alone all by itself.
It is just that much fun.

kenpo karate training manualAnyway,
don’t mean to rant,
but working out is that much fun.

So let’s talk about kicking,
and,
before we get going,
let me say one thing,
the influences that made me a matrixer
are wide and varied,
and you’re about to see that.
Here are a whole bunch of bits and pieces…

I was in Kenpo,
and there was a guy there,
tall skinny hippy guy,
hair all over,
name of Ted.
Ted was a master of kickers.
when you freestyled him
he would kick your ass with kicks,
then move in and kick your ass with hands.
I mean,
those long, bony legs
just bruised the heck out of you,
set you up,
and sat you down.

He was much admired for his kicking ability.

One day he was driving,
a guy cut him off,
he honked,
and the guy got out of the car
and stomped back towards him.
Ted gets out,
and they face each other.
Ted is maybe six feet,
skinny as a rail,
looks like a hippy.
The other guy towers over him
he’s as solid as a brick shithouse.
The guy swings.
Ted leans back,
kicks him in the chest,
and sets the guy right on his fanny.
Ted say,
‘Man, I don’t want to fight!’
But the guy is now pissed.
He stands up,
swings,
and Ted leans back and kicks him,
a perfect wheel kick,
in the chin.
Guy drops.
He’s out like a light.
People are watching,
Ted drags the guy to the meridian,
leaves him on the grass,
shrugs his shoulders to the people watching,
and drives away.

That’s a one strike knockout
with a kick.
Zowie.

I,
in particular,
was curious about Ted’s training methods.
Sure,
natural talent,
but there was more.
What did Ted do for training?
And,
the interesting thing,
Ted used to get to class an hour early,
and he would go back in the back room,
close the door,
and do his private work out.
One day he didn’t close the door all the way,
and I did my pre class work out
in a position so I could watch his work out.

He started with kicks.
He just stood in one place,
and did kicks.
I got bored.
And when I happened to glance
through the door again,
he was still doing kicks.

Wait a minute!
That’s a half hour of kicks!
I did ten kicks each side,
through a half dozen kicks,
then wheezed and gasped,
and pitied myself for how exhausted and empty
my legs were.

Ted didn’t waist time pitying himself.
He just went to work.

Now,
here’s a couple of datums
that influenced me in matrixing.

First datum,
did you know that if you put two pigeons in the same cage
they will mate in six weeks.
That’s a lifetime decision.
Six weeks to make a lifetime decision.

Second datum,
every cell in the human body is replaced every six weeks.

Got it?

Now,
I was not of sufficient caliber,
I wasn’t developed enough
to make a decision,
to change my work out
to the grueling routine Ted did.
I was a white boy from suburbia,
had not a clue.

Then I went to the Kang Duk Won,
and the white boy’s eyes were opened.
i can’t tell you how grueling those work outs were.
Every hour
was the equivalent of eight hours of hard work.
My bones would be so bruised
I couldn’t press the clutch pedal in my car.
On hot summer nights,
after class,
my work out partner and I
would walk to a hamburger stand,
and drink the the equivalent of big gulp after big gulp,
trying to replace the fluids we had sweated out.
And,
speaking of sweat,
my uniform would be sopping wet after class.
I would take it off and wring it out
over the toilet,
it was like the gi had been immersed in water.

And,
eventually,
I became of caliber.
And I started working on my kicks.

I did 250 kicks, each side, for the front kick,
for the side kick,
for the wheel kick,
for the rear kick,
for the crescent kick,
for the spinning kick.

And then,
I would frequently do it again.
I would spend hours and hours doing this,
and I realized a truth.

In Karate you want your arms to be as strong as your legs,
and you want your legs to be as flexible as your arms.

And,
here’s the thing,
in six weeks I changed.
I replaced all the cells in my body,
I mated to a concept,
and my kicks started to work.

Okay,
if you want the power of the martial arts,
whether it be in kicks or punches,
in forms or some kung fu concept,
or whatever,
you have to dig deep,
and to dig deep you have to work hard.
You have to work hard until the work out is easy.

Okely dokely,
end of story,
hope it helps.
Gives you legs stronger than the Hulk.

One of the forms I used
to transform myself,
is ‘The Kicking Form.’
It is on the ‘Power Kicks’ course,
which is a freeby,
bundled with the Matrix Karate course.

You know,
the reason I bundled the Power Kicks course
in with the Matrixing Karate course,
is interesting.
If I can give you this one more aside.

Matrix Karate was the first course I made,
and when I packaged it,
I thought to myself,
you know,
I’ve never done this before,
I don’t want to make any mistakes,
I could sell this Power Kicks course by itself,
but,
if I just put it in with the Matrix Karate,
nobody can complain.
Heck,
I’ve given them more than they bought,
so how can they complain?

And I try to follow this datum on all my courses.
You’ll almost always find an extra book tossed in,
or a bundle of things
above and beyond what you order.

It’s to make up for any mistakes I make.
And it works.
Turned out to be good business sense.

when I make a mistake in burning a disk,
or the links for the downloads don’t work,
or the postal system doesn’t like me,
people don’t complain,
they know I am doing my best,
they know I am trying to give back
better than I get,
so they tend to forgive me,
and then everything gets solved
with simple communication.

So that’s the reason you usually find a little extra
on courses you get from me.

Okay,
here’s the link for the Power Kicks (Matrix Karate) course

http://monstermartialarts.com/martial-arts/matrix-karate/

So start doing your 250 kicks per kick per side,
(or maybe 300 – yowza!)
And check out the Kicking form,
let it kick your butt
until you have Fng great kicks.

And I’ll talk to you later.

Al

http://monstermartialarts.com/martial-arts/matrix-karate/

Here’s the tong bei book.

http://www.amazon.com/Matrixing-Tong-Bei-Internal-Gung/dp/1507869290/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1423678613&sr=8-1&keywords=tong+bei

Leave a Reply

