The Secret of a Long Body in the Martial Arts


Secrets to a Long Life in the Martial Arts

I did Tai Chi in the fog this morning.
Oddly, a warm fog.
But spectacular.
I close my eyes
so I can better not see my body,
Until it feels like I have no body
and am pure me.
Pure ‘I am.’
Finally,
lower the hands
and the rest of the day
is filled with light and energy.
I recommend it to you.

survivalist martial artLet me tell you a couple of secrets…

First,
you don’t need much sleep.
Eight hours sleep is what mothers foist on their children
so they can have a little peace and quiet.
Thomas Edison got by on something like four hours a night,
and a catnap during the day.
So only sleep when you are tired,
not because the clock says to,
or everybody else is.
I get some of my best work done
when everybody else is sleeping.

Second,
while you should gear yourself towards organic foods,
you can pretty much eat what you want to…
IF YOU ARE WORKING OUT EVERY DAY!
Man, let me yell that again.
Have you ever noticed that the people
who hang out in health food stores
are often gaunt and ill shapen?
They are eating the right things,
but without the exercise
it doesn’t mean much.
My general rule is to stay away from synthetics
(pesticides, hormones, additives,
wax, coloring, GMO, etc.)
but I can eat what I want
because working out every day
detoxes me naturally.

Third,
make your muscles long.
Here’s the trick,
your body is compacted all day long.
Gravity pushes on it,
you push on objects,
push, push, push.
So pull it.
Elongate it.
Lengthen it.
Your body elongates a half inch or so while sleeping,
it shrinks a half inch or so
while walking around during the day.
When your body is injured
it is often because it has been compacted
(hit upon and forcibly shrunk)
So stretch it out.
Here’s the thing,
a body that is compacted
does not react as fast.
It loses fluidity of motion.

Now,
here’s something most people don’t consider:
working out doesn’t make your body long.
There is impact, there is force,
and the body compacts.
Gets healthier for the work,
but the muscles don’t get long.
So you stretch before class.
But…do you stretch after class?
Do you stretch at odd times during the day?

Now,
there’s a lot more to be considered,
meat vs veggies,
more sleep after injury
what type of martial art gives the best work out
and so on and so on.
But,
these things have to do with balance
and finding your personal path.
The three things, I have mentioned here,
forget obsessing on sleep,
eat what you want as long as you work out,
and have long muscles,
are the key to it all.
Do these things
and you will find your body getting
strong and stronger and stronger.

Okaly doggaly
let me give you my recommendation
for making long muscles.
Yoga.
Now,
oddly,
Yoga is harder to do than martial arts.
That’s if you get into the deep postures,
focus on the hours long meditation,
and so on.

But if you just take the basic postures
and flow through them tai chi style,
maybe holding each posture for a breath cycle or two,
then yoga actually works a lot better
than some of the more extreme methods.

You just sit or stand or lie down,
and let the body stretch.

And here’s something I found interesting:
what muscles are you using when you stretch?
To stand and just extend the arms towards the alls,
what muscles are you using?
I mean,
the muscles are connected to the skeleton,
and the muscles are all ‘pulling’ muscles,
So how do you ‘pull’ the body longer
when the muscles are on the inside?
Weird, eh?

Anyway,
the program I designed for Yoga
is called Yogata,
Yogata stands for
‘Yoga Kata,’
and it does what I describe here.
Lengthens and relaxes the muscles,
easy to do,
more flow,
and it REALLY works.

Excellent for edging around injuries,
finding extra balance in the body,
and it DEFINITELY makes the muscles longer and stronger.

http://monstermartialarts.com/martial-arts/yogata-the-yoga-kata/

Now,
I know most of you guys are in great shape.
But if you have an injury you want to fix,
even and especially an old injury,
if you just want some more stretch
so you can get higher kicks,
or you just want the extra speed that longer muscle gives,
then check Yogata out.

http://monstermartialarts.com/martial-arts/yogata-the-yoga-kata/

Now,
one last thing.
I forgot,
I actually forgot,
my yearly New Year’s request.

Forgive me.
If I have messed up an order,
said something you didn’t like,
done ANYTHING else that require it…
forgive me.

This is a hard world,
and life works better,
for you and for me,
if we forgive.
If we grant a little kindness,
realize that that stubbed toe isn’t all that bad,
that life is better if we ease up a bit
and forgive.

Thanks.

I appreciate it.

And,
that all said…
have a great work out!

Al

http://monstermartialarts.com/martial-arts/yogata-the-yoga-kata/

Leave a Reply

