When Kicks are King!


The Best Martial Arts Kicks in the World!

I was okay with kicks
back when I was starting out.
Kicks were a new thing,
hadn’t ever used those muscles before,
but it was pretty easy to follow along in class
so I was okay.

chinese hand karate martial art

Complete art, a pivotal time in matrixing ~ click on the cover!

BUT,
as time progressed I noticed something,
there were guys in class that had GREAT kicks.
These guys were strong and fluid,
they could use their feet like delicate tools,
and knock you on your fanny!
So I went to one of the instructors
and asked why this one guy was so good with his kicks.

“He does 200 kicks per kick per side.”

I blinked.
I was doing ten kicks per kick per side.
I thought I was toughening
getting strong
improving at a wild rate.
Nope.

So,
I was fortunate enough to have a job
where I sat on my butt and watched a machine.
Sounds funny to say something like that
but,
that’s what I did.
So I got up off my butt
and I began doing 250 kicks per kick per side.
Hey!
It wasn’t hard!
Took some time,
and some sweat
and the first few days my legs were pretty tired,
but,
it got to be so much fun
I began doing it two and even three times a day.
And I began looking around for things to kick.
We had these big telephone cable spools,
and I would practice kicking them across the floor
so then I set up stations
and began practicing my multiple kicks.
Man,
it was fun!
And,
the mystery of kicks suddenly resolved
and I learned something…
good kicks are just like walking.
If you walk ten miles a day
then your legs do ten miles of work,
they get used to it.
No big deal.
Same thing with kicks.
And,
I learned something else,

‘Make the legs as flexible as the arms,
make the arms as powerful as the legs.’

Things were different after that,
I became a LOT more confident,
and I started doing a lot better at freestyle.
Heck,
it changed my whole work ethic!
I started looking at stances differently,
trying to make them as simple as walking.
I began punching big cable spools,
knocking them across the factory floor
I even set up a punching station at home.
I tacked two carpet samples
to a 100 ft tall redwood tree.
It never fell over,
but I sure scared it!
Grrr.

Anyway,
I still work the kicks to this day.
Not as much,
I’m more into forms,
but,
I make sure I do the following stretching routine
several times a day.

20 – 50 deep squats
20 leg raises front and side
20 single leg squats
(leg on a rail and deep bend with supporting leg)
20 single leg squats
(squat on one leg – stand – squat other leg)
Some jumping jacks to loosen it all up.

Now,
I’m all over the place
up here at Monkeyland.
It’s nothing to walk ten miles
checking the fence.
It’s nothing to take a twenty mile hike back into the BLM lands.
It’s nothing to hike up a mountain and down.
And I still do fast, snappy kicks,
strong enough to knock over a bull.
So this leg regimen I recommend
as a true fountain of youth.
Whether you want strong kicks,
or better stances,
or anything,
do this routine
at the beginning and end of your work out
and the legs are king.

Okey dokey,
here’s the obligatory ad…

http://kangdukwon.com

It’s a site I set up for the sole purpose
of training in a VERY powerful form of Karate.

Now,
be off with you,
and
have a work out that the Gods themselves would envy!

Al

http://kangdukwon.com

Leave a Reply

