Was Shaolin the Original Art?


Finding the Source of Gung Fu

I had some spare time
so I wrote a website.
It’s about Shaolin.
The point about it being…
was Shaolin the original art?

Now,
every country has its art,
but they are mostly based on Shaolin.

And,
before Shaolin there was fighting,
but Shaolin elevated it to art,
to enlightenment.

So,
maybe Shaolin wasn’t the first,
but it was probably the most important.

I was pretty lucky in my selection of Karate,
I happened upon a very pure art,
from before Funakoshi.
And,
the interesting thing is,
I was pretty lucky in my study of Shaolin.
If you read the first blog
on my new site,
I explain a bit about it.

Now,
here’s the thing.
I did Karate,
and I matrixed it,
and it was pretty messed up.
But you do matrixing first,
and then it all makes sense,
and then the classical stuff starts to really make sense.
Becomes advanced studies.
I found the same thing happened in Shaolin.

Man,
I tried to figure it all out,
studied Wing chun,
Ton Toi,
a bunch of other stuff,
but it didn’t seem to come together for me.
Then I met a fellow name of Richard Armington.
Richard had studied with Arthur Lee in Hawaii,
and it was real old school.
So we went through the forms,
and,
tell the truth,
everything was really spread out,
didn’t make sense.
But I could feel the power of it.
But,
you know me,
I didn’t want to spend a dozen years,
so I looked for the one thing that would grab me,
that would make sense.
Look,
it’s like when you walk into a room,
you look for a rack to hang your coat on.

Without that rack,
everything goes on the floor.
Gets tangled up.
So I was looking for something,
a concept,
a technique,
a way to twist the whole thing
so it would matrix in my mind.
So it would fall into order,
would make sense.

In one of the forms,
I think it was called ‘jing mu,’
though i am hazy on translations and spelling and such,
but i think it meant butterfly.

And it was light and flitting,
covered directions in a very matrix way,
and I had found my rack.
I started hanging concepts off it.
All the concepts that were spread out
all over the place in Fut Ga,
and I could now make sense out of them.
And,
odd thing,
I found that,
as I explored the form in directions,
that for every different direction I stepped,
a concept worked.
Well,
that made sense.
Different geometries – different concepts.

So I reworked the Fut Ga
in a more methodical and logical way.

The forms fit two different footworks,
they emulated a bunch of different animals,
and the techniques,
as you go through the forms,
advance logically.

So instead of the Shaolin concepts radiating all over the place,
they could be done one, two, three fashion.

Made it REALLY easy to learn.

And,
some of the bad habits Shaolin picked up over the years,
I was able to delete them.

For instance,
just to mention one,
have you ever noticed how,
in the back stance,
the back ankle is scrunched,
and the front foot is way out there,
the heel lifted up?
That stance doesn’t work.
There is no mobility,
and the front foot isn’t able to kick,
and the thing just doesn’t work.
So I raised the stance slightly,
turned the foot in slightly,
and the thing works.

Is it Shaolin like you see?
With the guy all scrunched down and looking…Shaolin-y?
No.
But it works,
and I care about workability MUCH more
than I care about looks.
And,
I question whether,
several hundred years ago,
the founders of Shaolin did their stances that way.
Heck,
they had to fight,
not pose.
And here’s something to think about,
the Shaolin was destroy more than once.
So the art was rebuilt more than once.
Who’s to say it was rebuilt correctly?

The current Shaolin,
I am talking PRC
(People’s Republic of China)
killed off or chased out
all the Shaolin stylists
as part of their great cultural revolution.
Then,
when they realized they could make money,
they rebuilt it.
But they didn’t use martial artists,
they used physical education coaches.
And you can see mistakes.
You can see physical education,
but mistakes in body alignment.
You can see frantic workmanship,
beautiful workmanship,
but not an art that is based on function,
on self defense.

Hope i didn’t step on two many feet out there,
and,
if I did,
go to my sites and write hate mail.
Explain how I am wrong,
1st amendment, man.
Say what you want,
and unless you’re foul mouthed,
I’ll okay it.

Anyway,
now you know about the Shaolin Butterfly,
what was under my cranium when I did it,
and the thrust of my site.
And you’ll have more insight
into the Shaolin Butterfly
than what is said there.

The site is

http://bestkungfu.wordpress.com

Take a visit,
I’ll be changing a lot of stuff.
I wrote the articles after wiki,
and I’ll be making them into stories and good times.
But,
feel free to visit,
comment,
and have a good time.

Now,
you guys and gals
have a GREAT spring break.
And I hope you get ALL the eggs,
but try not to use any dim mak
on those kiddies you are shoving aside.

Have a great work out!
Al

http://bestkungfu.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

