The Ultimate Karate Encyclopedia!


From Gung Fu to Matrixing

Thanks to all who have ordered Kwon Bup!

I appreciate the support.
And, let me explain about the books I am coming out with.
I mentioned it last week,
an encyclopedia for the faithful.
Five books of Karate,
from Kung Fu to Matrixing.

Pan Gai Noon
Kang Duk Won
Kwon Bup
Outlaw Karate
Buddha Crane Karate,

Now,
a warning,
these books have not been available in kindle,
as Kindle can’t handle large numbers of photographs.
BUT,
they have been part of the courses I have offered.
Kang Duk Won, Kwon Bup, and Pan Gai Noon
are available in digital format
on the evolution of an art course.
Buddha Crane Karate,
because it has to do with Matrixing,
has been available on the
Create Your Own Art course.
Outlaw Karate has been available
on the outlaw karate course.

But,
these books have only been available digital,
so I was pretty happy to start putting them in paperback form.

The warning is that if you have these courses,
you may have the books,
so make sure before you buy twice.

And,
if you want the video that goes along with each book,
email me at aganzul.
They’re only $10 each
for the instant download.

Now,
I spent a good couple of decades researching and practicing,
and over the years I would write books
describing the system and techniques,
so these books were written over time.

You aren’t going to get a lot of philosophy,
except for the hard core matrix explanations.
You are going to get the forms and techniques.
This is an encyclopedia of actual practice.

Pan Gai Noon
deals with the Chinese influence,
the forms sanchin and seisan.
There isn’t much known about this system,
but Matrixing shows that sanchin (for instance) is not about
technique (Hangetsu version Japanese)
breathing (Goju version)
dynamic tension (Uechi version)
It is about building energy,
and while it taps into the subjects of the various versions,
it is not what those systems are teaching.
Those are taught so conceptually different,
that even when they coincide with my version,
they might as well not be considered sanchin.
And Seisan is the technique form.

Kang Duk Won has the least amount of theory.
It is a version from before Funakoshi,
possibly influenced by the gung fu of the fellow
who brought it to Korea
(Byung in Joon)

Kwon Bup is a very powerful and linear Karate.
It was designed by Robert Babich,
who is, I believe,
the only America to be able to do
the one finger trick,
which is to thrust a finger through a board,
and not break it,
but leave a hole.

Outlaw Karate is my attempt
to take KDW and KB
and put them together into one system.
I took the techniques that worked best,
aligned them in more logical and easy to learn forms.

Then I made my breakthroughs in Matrixing,
which brings us to Buddha Crane Karate.
My first attempt to matrix a system.
You can see the obvious matrixing concepts
and I write about them,
so it is a unique look into matrixing,
and the development of that science.

Now,
a couple of things.
The graphics are different from book to book,
because computer technology was changing.
On one book I would use a poser program,
on another you’ll see photos,
on still another
you’ll see the figures drawn out with an appleworks program,
thousands and thousands of sticks and curves,
compiled into human shapes
doing martial arts forms and techniques.

Really,
I look at that one
(Buddha Crane)
and I feel like I am studying hieroglyphics
on the wall of some Egyptian pyramid.

And,
as one reader has correctly observed,
there is some need of editing.
The sad fact is that
it is difficult for a person to see his own mistakes.
Double sad,
since I am the one that says
‘Man learns best from his mistakes.’
But if there is a mistake in the artwork,
too bad,
that software is long gone.
If the problem is with the writing,
I can correct it,
but,
it takes a lot for me to recall a book, do the reuploading,
and so on.
So,
a few mistakes,
but not as bad as one might think.
I was a professional writer,
I did do my own photography
when I worked for the mags,
so,
not bad.

And,
the main point,
even if you do come across an error,
it does not stop the understanding.

You might blink when I spell reality railty,
or something stupid like that,
but it won’t stop you,
or obscure the understanding.

Now,
all the books are not in print…yet.
Over the next month or two they will be.
And,
I will probably be fixing the covers
so they say ‘encyclopedia on them somewhere.
It’s just a matter of time
and having enough gigabytes.
Up here at Monkeyland,
while there is no shortage of…cow stuff,
there is a shortage of gigabytes.

Don’t get me started,
but did you know verizon charges $50 for 5 gigabytes?
And dish charges $25 for 10 gigabytes?
I am sitting right between two verizon cell towers,
so that means,
it costs twice as much to pick up a cell signal
as it does to bounce data off the moon.

Scream. Pull my hair.
Rant about corporate unfairness and gouging.

Anyway,
you didn’t come here to hear me rant,
but to get your mind wrapped
all around the martial arts.

So,
five books,
not all out yet,
but
‘The Ultimate Karate Encyclopedia:
from Gung Fu to Matrixing.’
A true encyclopedia for the faithful.

Heck,
get them before I have a chance to correct the covers,
and make them say encyclopedia,
and you might have a collector’s edition
in your white knuckled and gnarly martial arts mitts.

Okay,
I wanted to give you this update,
give you the whole picture.

And thanks to Sandra for mentioning the editing.

Now,
I want you guys and gals
to have the most AWESOME workout
imaginable!

Talk to you later…
Al

you can also find the books on Amazon, but here are the ‘createspace’ addresses.

Pan Gai Noon ~ https://www.createspace.com/4579584

Kwon Bup ~ https://www.createspace.com/4617449

Buddha Crane ~ https://www.createspace.com/4577595

Leave a Reply

