What Music Do You Kung Fu Fight to?


Everybody Loves Kung Fu Fighting…

During another conversation I asked Jamal, if he had to drive over somebody in self defense, what music would he have on the radio, and he said ‘Kung Fu Fighting.’ 

The other conversation was about the value of a kiai, and my question actually was born from the idea of a car doing a kiai.

Some years ago I was learning Indonesian weapons, and I found the best music, since I didn’t have any Indonesian twanging to go along with my studies, was Bob Marley.

For months I listened to his reggae, had the words fair memorized, and the moves I was practicing were slowly impinged upon my bones.

It was really delightful, and it really helped the learning experience.

At one point, I had a lot of Chinese music while I was learning Tai Chi Chuan. Really put me in the mood.

And I have always had music playing when I worked out. Sometimes, depending on what I was doing, I turned it up. Sometimes..off. All depended upon the frame of mind I was cultivating.

I know that other people like a little music with their martial arts, and I know that some want deathly silence.

Heck, when the UFC fighters stroll down to the octagon they always have some jangly, in your face music belting out. The better to stomp your opponent with, you know?

So that brings us to now…and the question: What kind of music do you like when you do martial arts?

Do you think it a distraction? 

Does it make your practice better?

Music with kata v music while freestyling?

As light as this question is, considering that martial arts has so much to do with timing and inner sensibility and states of mind, it is actually a fairly hefty question.

So, what kind of music do you kung fu fight to, and when and why and all that other stuff.

Al Case operates MonsterMartialArts.com

Leave a Reply

