About the Monkeyland Martial Arts Temple…


A Bunch of Little Things

Happy weekend!
It’s supposed to be a scorcher,
so bundle up in your winter clothes,
and do a real work out!

I personally believe that sweat
is one of the great curatives of mankind.
Sweat gets rid of toxins,
keeps the body functioning.

Now,
I don’t have anything planned this newsletter,
but I did have a bunch of things to mention,
and a question.

First,
I’m putting a bunch of books up on Amazon/Kindle.
If you’re prone to kindle,
then go to amazon
look for things like
‘al case karate,’
‘al case kung fu,’
or whatever.
Then click on the author’s name.
If you’re lucky,
you’ll get a big page with a ton of books on it.
If you’re unlucky,
you’ll get a few books.
Haven’t figured out why amazon works that way,
but it does.

The books include martial arts,
and a lot of novels.

Second,
Master Instructor John Newport
I’ve mentioned before,
has started up an association.
http://www.martial-art-association.com
I had my doubts,
expressed them,
and he put them to rest.
It doesn’t sound like the same old same old,
so if you are into organizations and associations,
his site might be the way to go.
The main thing,
he is more into establishing an organization
that functions the way the NRA does.
To give us clout as martial artists,
and to protect us from the government.
If you don’t want to get taxed and regulated to death,
which is what the government does,
check it out.

Third,
getting closer to Monkeyland,
fingers are crossed,
escrow is closing,
and…it looks like it is going to happen.
That said,
let me ask you guys a question.
I call it Monkeyland,
after a book I wrote,
in which good guys overcome bad,
and the blurb is…
Monkeyland…another word for freedom.

I like
‘another word for freedom,’
and so I attached it to the vision of a martial arts temple.
But,
does anybody else like it?
Care for it?
Dislike it?
The other name it will likely have
is ‘Nipomo.’
As in ‘Nipomo Temple.’

Nipomo is an indian word which means ‘foot hills,’
or ‘low hills,’
or some such.
Which,
if you’re handy with google earth,
will tell you something about the location we’re planning.

So,
do you like Monkeyland for a name?
Or something else?
Let me know…
this is your chance to vote.

Fourth,
I know I didn’t have anything planned,
but I wanted to share a win

Al,
Working through the fifth army of the Tai Chi form and I have to say wow. I took your advice and played the forms like a tiger, a dragon, a crane, a snake, a leopard, the whole bloody menagerie. I did the Karate forms like Tiger, Dragon and Crane. This is such a unique experience that I just had to tell you that one section of the Tai Chi course can make 20 some odd years of Tai Chi training something revolutionary. I can play all the Shaolin five animals regardless of forms and I think really that is what the Shaolin monks actually meant. Bravo Sir. Good stuff.

Justin H

Thank you Justin.
And to you fellows out there,
I pity the guy who does a form
only one way,
waiting for enlightenment.
He’ll have a long time to wait,
because he has no perspective.

If you do the forms
as Justin did
you will definitely have perspective.
And I think I’ve written a few articles on this,
but you’d have to ransack my sites to find them.
Fortunately,
I have search boxes in the side columns,
so you could just type in
‘five animals,’
or something like that,
and you might find them.
The three main sites are

Monstermartialarts.com
LearnKarateonline.net
freemartialartsonline.com

Now,
I think that is about it,
if you have thoughts on the name for the temple,
let me know,
have a great work out,
and I’ll talk to you later!

Al

BTW
go to this link
and there is a recommendation in the menu at the top
for how to study the Matrixing courses.

Matrix Martial Arts Blogsite

2 thoughts on “About the Monkeyland Martial Arts Temple…

  1. radbola

    I think the name and general idea are great and will be a flower in the western monasteries. I can’t help but feel like another “golden period” of Western martial arts is on the horizon and everyone should sweep the porches and light the torches. Company is coming.

    Reply
  2. radbola

    Oh and “monkey mountain” is good enough. Nipomo doesnt ring. Western monasteries should have western names, especially if they are largely populated by westerners. Seems to me…. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

