Do Martial Arts to Get Rid of the Monkey Mind!


 Martial Arts and the Revenge of the Monkey Mind!

Took a break from martial arts and went on a trip last week,

went to inspect some property
to see if it was a possible place
for a Martial Arts temple.

The fellow driving
happened to be one of the first people
I ever taught how to matrix the martial arts.
Way back in the early 80s
we locked ourselves in the dojo
and did nothing but martial arts.

Afterwards,
he came down to Los Angeles,
walked into a classical Shotokan school,
and was promoted to third black belt.
True story.

Anyway,
we were talking,
discussing the price of beans,
whether mankind should be treated like a crop,
and how to retain awareness after death,
and stuff like that.

At one point
he made reference to
the ‘Monkey Mind.’

Now I knew the Monkey Mind by a term term.
I call it surface thoughts.
A surface thought is when you think
‘got to go to the movies,’
‘what’s for lunch,’
‘drive car to store,’
and so on.

These aren’t real thoughts,
they are surface thoughts.
And I have been calling them surface thoughts for years,
or just mental chatter.
But his phrase,
‘Monkey Mind,’
really stuck.

Now,
a real thought is when you make the decision
to launch the body,
a real decision is when you finally

QUIT THAT JOB
KILL SOMEBODY
DIE
HAVE A BABY
DO SOMETHING!

Not figure out whether you want a number 2 or a number 3 at MickeyD.
That’s surface thought.

A real thought is that whim,
that moment,
that urge
that makes it all happen.

As martial artists
we are one of the few peoples on earth
that can understand that.

We do our forms,
concentrating on one thing
and we ignore the surface thoughts.
In doing this we create space,
and we come to the point
where we can recognize a real thought.
Where we can generate a thought ourselves,
or see another person generate a thought.

This is the blessing of our discipline,
this is the true benefit of the martial arts.
Focusing on what we are doing,
putting aside the Monkey Mind,
creating space,
see our own or others actual thoughts.

This,
incidentally,
is why people get better doing forms
with a little freestyle,
and they don’t get better just doing the freestyle.

Freestyle doesn’t eliminate the Monkey Mind.
The disciplined doing of forms does.

Now,
that all said,
my conversation in the car
impacted upon me.

I always push Matrix Karate
as the point at where people should start.
And I realized the real reason I do this.
The quality of the Create Your Own Art Course.
It is blurry and the sound is fuzzy.
It is the victim of ancient technology.

But,
quality of recording notwithstanding…
the CYOA course
is the actual original material.
I’ve been treating it like history.

But it has the actual graphs
the original matrixes
for the footwork and handwork
of the martial arts.

Now,
to tell the truth,
I should really redo the thing.
Film it clear and crisp,
polish up talking points,
go into the actual doing of the thing.
And,
one of these days I will do that.
I get to Monkeyland,
get my shoulder fixed,
and that will be one of the first things I do.
And, at that point the CYOA course will become history.
Still valuable,
but history.

But,
right now it isn’t history.

So,
if you feel like braving the grainy video
and the crackling sound,
that is the original material.
It is what led to Matrix Karate,
and all the other matrixing courses,
and to Neutronics,
and will lead to Monkeyland.

Now,
you have been warned about the quality,
so let me soften things up
and throw something else into the pot.

Anybody who orders in May will get a free copy of

‘Surviving the Mobs!’

This is a prepper manual.
It is 80 pages long,
and it is a checksheet
for how to prep
from the ground up.
It covers…

The kind of events we might face (a bomb, terrorist attack, bio/chem/whatever, etc.)
The choices you will face for each type of incident.
Basic preparations (basic stockpiling of prepper gear)
Potential for Martial Law and what to do about it.
Bugging out or staying home.
Potential for Civil unrest (mobs) and what to do.
How to fort your house.
Getting fresh water.
Waste treatment.
Clothes.
Guns.
MARTIAL ARTS
and so on and so on.

As I said,
it is written simply,
like a checklist,
so you can just go through the book and do it.

Now,
the reasons I offer this as a freebie
(I think it was selling for $20?)
are several.

One,
the country is at a weird spot,
I believe that if you prepare for something it won’t happen.
True.

Two,
If something does happen,
Martial Artists,
people who can keep their cool
in the middle of the alligator pond
are the ones who are going to keep this society together.

Think about it.
People who stay cool,
and who can grin and laugh
when the bad guys are dropping bombs
and screaming for us to pick up our weapons
are our best defense.

I want the guys,
the martial artists among us
to survive.
I think it is imperative.

Three,
I want everybody to check out the new site.
It is looking good,
but I am still madly fixing links.
One of the links was the free books for newsletter sign ups.
which you can find here…

http://www.monstermartialarts.com/free-martial-arts-books/

Four,
it’s almost my birthday.
And,
my sincere apology
for anything I’ve done,
didn’t address you right in an email,
didn’t get back to you,
your order arrived in a ripped package.
ANYTHING
that I can take responsibility for,
I do.
I do apologize,
and if you need more than apology,
please let me know.

Allowing me to do this
keeps my world clean,
allows me to function
without the chatter of the universal monkey mind.
No bad things holding me back.
You know.

So,
May
order anything,
and especially the CYOA course,
and get the

‘Surviving the Mobs’ book.
And,
if I forget to send it to you in me thank you email,
immediately write and remind me.

Oinkey doinkey,
time to go,
Monkeyland is around the corner,
got to get ready!

Al

This has been a page about Martial Arts, and if you liked it, you should zip over to Monster Martial Arts!

zen martial arts

One thought on “Do Martial Arts to Get Rid of the Monkey Mind!

  1. Learn Karate

    Thank you posting this informative article. I enjoyed reading it and I did learn a good bit from the information. If you do not mind may I share it? Thank you again for posting this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

