The Hardest Punch in Karate is the Easiest Punch


The Secret of the HardestPunch in Karate!

I always thought, when first learning Karate, that you had to have huge muscles, you had to be able to do a thousand push ups, and that was the only way to have the hardest punch in the world.
My first teaches in Kenpo Karate abused me of that.
My first teacher was a slender fellow named Rex. No muscles on that boy at all, yet he snapped a half fist out so fast I could barely see it, and the brick he hit literally shattered. It didn’t break, but more exploded.
So I was convinced and converted, and devoted my training to speed, speed, speed. Unfortunately, my being rather large (6 foot two) and two hundred pounds, that was the wrong track for me. There was no way on earth I could get Rex’s speed and agility. I simply had a body suited to different modes of motion.
Then I came across a fellow name of Bob, who taught an art called Kang Duk Won Korean Karate. He was the same build as Rex, moved even faster, but there was a subtle difference. He was liquid, and he didn’t rely on speed, though he had it, he relied on something I would come to realize was ‘chi,’ or ‘ki,’ depending on what country you were pronouncing it from.
Now, the chi built up in the forms, we never talked about it, but we started to feel it. We could feel things moving inside our bodies.
And I started to feel inside my partner’s bodies. The end of my fist became imbued with radar, and I could feel their ribs, their muscles, even their organs.
And a funny thing happened.
The easier I struck, the less muscle I used, the more pain I caused. Simply, a form of ‘awareness’ was coming out of the end of my fist, and that form of awareness is called chi.
The body is a motor, and when you do the forms it turns the motor on. Unfortunately, most forms these days have been changed, their order changed, and they don’t do the job. This is why i use Matrixing to align the body, and to align the forms, and thus create this form of really usable energy.
And that is how I learned to strike easier to make the hardest punch in Karate.

zen martial arts

Leave a Reply

