Karate Uniforms Make the Man!


Karate Uniforms are Necessary!

It’s a funny thing about Karate uniforms, and I should include any martial arts uniform, be it from kung fu or taekwondo or whatever, but they make a person feel better.

powerful kickMore, they make him feel official.

My first uniform was a giveaway, and it was yellow and thin and I felt really out of place when I walked out onto the dojo mat.

I saved up my money and got the next best thing, a bleached white uniform, and I wore the heck out of that thing. Interestingly, I expected it to bind my kicks, but it didn’t. And my punches were snappier.

My real glory was when I got my first Tokaido karate uniform. This was back in the seventies, and there weren’t a lot of uniforms to choose from. Still, tokaido set the standard. They were heavier, properly gusseted, and they lasted and lasted and lasted.

I particularly enjoyed the weight on the arms. When I snapped a punch it POPPED! I would punch by the hour and listen to that pop with total fascination. The kicks had the same pop, and my kicks are twice as good for the simple reason that when I kicked, I felt like it was official kick.

Mine lasted a half dozen years, and considering the working out I was doing, that was pretty freakin’ good. And, actually, it would have lasted longer, but I think some sort of moth got into it. A hole appeared on the front, not where it would experience stress, or excessive sweat, or anything. Just a hole in the middle where nothing happened.

Nowadays Tokaido is a little pricey, and there are lots of other karate uniforms to choose from. Still, when you choose one, get at least ten ounces. Make sure you take shrinkage into account. And take care of it. Hang it in the closet (one with mothballs- grin). Don’t let it sit around wet with sweat. Unroll it and dry it, wash it, treat it like a good training partner, because that’s what a good karate uniform is.

karate uniforms

One thought on “Karate Uniforms Make the Man!

Leave a Reply

