The Iron Horse…Force v Flow!


Good morning and halleluah!
 It’s time to work out!
 Just a word…
 I had sore knees the other day,
 my back stance was hanging up because of it,
 so I started doing some quick deep squats.

Keep the back as straight as possible
keep the feet flat
touch the fingers to the floor
and straighten up.

Zingo bingo,
no knee probs.
The only saw of
‘use it or lose it’
comes to mind.

the iron horse

Do It Until You Don't Die!

And,
the truth of the martial arts is this:

what you think is what you get.

Or,
to explain it simply,
if you think you are tired,
out of breath,
can’t do something…
then you are tired,
out of breath
and you can’t do something.

I first realized this while doing Kima Chasie…
Horse meditation.
You sit in a deep horse with a high block,
extend your other arm to the side
turn it so your chicken beak is pointing behind you,
and stare at your fingers,
and breath.

I was doing it,
so many years ago,
and my exact realization was…
‘If I think about the pain,it hurts.
If I think about breathing and relaxing,
there is no pain.’

Whatever you put your attention on,
that is what you are going to get.
And this truth holds true through life
to every aspect,
to every nook and cranny,
to everything.

What you think is what you get.

Of course,
the kicker is this…
to change your mind
and be able to focus it,
to make this truth work the way you want it to,
you need discipline.
Discipline such as in
horse meditation.

When you stop whining
and get down to business,
your mind gets serious,
and you focus it,
and your intention starts to pop,
and you get what you want.

Discipline.
That’s the key.

Now,
having said all that,
let me share a win.
I got this from one of my students.
He studied for a year,
moved away,
and occasionally drops me an email.

I realized recently after watching/rewatching some of these DVDs I have from you that doing that year-plus of Martial Arts with you actually had a definite and noticeable positive impact on my life. It’s something that becomes a part of you, how you move, how you act, and absolutely a part of how you consider physical threats. Actually, it’s funny: I’ve never needed to fight much in my life, but since doing Martial Arts with you I’m completely unconcerned about it. First of all, because I know I won’t have to. And behind that, because I know that I could. And that I would win (not overconfidence but calm assured certainty; I don’t have to prove I can fight.) But the odd thing is, even though I’ll never have to, and I can just not get into any fights in the first place…I don’t think I could have achieved that state so well, without having first gained the certainty that I can fight and win. You have to move up through the ability to face force, before you can disregard it. And I didn’t have that certainty before. So thank you, very much, for that. (And I wrote this paragraph so you can throw it in a newsletter if you want to, or stick it on your site or whatever.)

Keep up the good work, big guy. (And don’t forget to answer my questions 😉

Have a great workout today!
–Mike

Thanks Mike.
I can honestly say
I really enjoyed beating you up.
Grin.

The point that he makes
that I tell people
and try to make them really understand
is this:

you can’t fight what you can’t face.

This has many different applications,
but the specific one I’m thinking of is…
if you can’t face force…
then you won’t be able to handle it.

Yes,
the soft arts are superior.
But they are useless
if a guy can’t confront a fist flying at his face.
If he can’t do a hard block.
Grab and throw.

You see,
learn to do it,
no matter what,
handle the force…
then you can make it subtle,
go soft,
get effortless.
But first…
make sure you can do it no matter what.

Force…
then flow.

Brute force…
then intelligence.

And,
I certainly hope
nobody is thinking I am dissing one art,
or preferring one over the other.

Hard and soft are like right and left shoes.
You need both.

If you’ve got your hard arts down,
look into the soft arts.

If you’ve got your soft arts down,
look at the hard arts,
and make sure you are at the point
where you can handle force
no matter what,
and not in just the polite situations
contrived in the dojo.

Onky ka-donkey
I think we’ve pretty well covered it.
however,
I want you to remember
HanaKwanMass is upon us.
Nail a giant burrito to the wall,
let it drip and season,
it will bring joy
to all the little ones.

And,
the newsletter before Xmas
will be the rendering of
the Monster Night Before Xmas.
So put the logs under your computer,
get out that bag of hard marshmallows from Independence Day,
get some toe wash,
and prepare to boost your feet up and be entertained.

Oh,
and don’t forget to get a Monster Course
for that bratty kid brother of yours.
It’ll make a man out of him.
Yeah!

http://www.monstermartialarts.com

Now,
go kick that bag!
Make the stuffing bleed!
Have a ball!
And I’ll talk to you soon.

Al

BTW
here is a great link

http://cdnapi.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/0_04vzdsr5/uiconf_id/5590821

And here’s an ad…

I came across some great military axioms from somebody name of Ric Hunter/fighter pilot. Appropriate, I think, for great and awesome martial artists. Enjoy…
“Sometimes I think war is God’s way of teaching us geography.”
– Paul Rodriguez

“A slipping gear could let your M203 grenade launcher fire when you least
expect it. That would make you quite unpopular in what’s left of your unit”
– PM Magazine, the Army’s magazine of preventive maintenance.

“Aim towards Enemy” – Instruction printed on US Rocket Launcher

When the pin is pulled, Mr. Grenade is not our friend.

If it’s stupid, but it works, it isn’t stupid.

Leave a Reply

