Basics and Advanced Martial Arts Theory…Timing Your Space!


When I was first starting out, I used to do this basic that led to advanced martial arts theory.
This was at Rod Martin’s Chinese-American Kenpo Karate School
(And,
BTW,
it was years before I finally asked myself the questions…
is it Chinese or American?
Is it Kenpo or Karate?)
anyway,
when I was starting out at RMCAKKS
I used to stand in the front room,
take a stance,
a front stance,
execute a front snap kick,
and return to the front stance.
Sometimes I would vary the stance,
or the kick,
but I would always pick that one spot in the front room.
In spite of the people walking by the front window.
That spot.
Why?
Because the biggest mirror was there.
The best lighting was there.
And,
what was I doing?
I was timing my space.
Timing your space,
sounds weird, eh?

The first stage of this thing
was how fast can I do the stance to kick to stance cycle.
Just a drill.
And,
it is interesting,
because it takes you a long time.
Not just subjectively,
but in real world, stop watch time.
And here’s the funny thing.
It takes ⅜s of a second to react.
By that I mean,
if the guy in front of you puts on his brakes,
from the moment you see his red taillights,
to the moment you are actively braking,
it takes 3/8s of a second.
That’s Joe Normal.
Joe Karate
(or Randy Kung Fu,
or Tommy Aikido)
is going to go faster.
Well,
sure.
Just like anything,
you train in something
and you get better.
You train in reaction time,
you’re going to have better reaction time.
So,
first step,
train in reaction time.
get faster than 3/8s of a second,
get fast enough
that you can use that technique
to survive a real fight.
But,
here is where it gets interesting,
after doing that for a year or so,
I noticed the collusion between
the space in my mind
and the time of the kick.
At first it was just relax.
But,
the constant doing of the one thing
pried me loose from reaction time,
and pried me loose from my body.
I was starting to move back
out of my body
just a wee bit.
Not noticeable,
just enough to see
what was important
in this time thing.
Not just to relax,
but to tell the mind to jump back a bit,
to get out of the way,
to get out of the equation.
This is what I call
timing your space.

How much space can you create
around a technique.

Interestingly,
I started doing that with energy
later on,
when I was studying at the Kang Duk Won.
But the KDW
built energy.
Kenpo didn’t build energy,
but it did build speed,
and speed relates to time,
and so,
between the two arts
I learned about
timing my space
and
later
spacing my energy.
And,
all this just kept nudging me out of my body.
I suppose the breakthrough came,
though I didn’t know it at the time,
when I started looking at the world
and not knowing where I was looking from.
I would look at this,
this fact of me
trying to look at where I was looking from.

We are awareness,
but where are we aware from?

We give off light,
but at what point in space
is the projector located?

Weird, eh?

Anyway,
didn’t mean to take you down
bizarre alley,
I know some of you know exactly what I am talking about,
and I know a few of you…
the lights are going on,
something is clicking in the head,
OMGosh…
this explains this thing about you that is…different.
Different from other people.
Different.

Sure,
you’ve just been timing your space,
or spacing your energy,
or coming to an appreciation
for yourself as a human being
through the martial arts,
and it makes you different.

Well done.
You are different,
we are all different,
if we can just wake up enough
to appreciate
the glory of
our uniqueness.

Well,
that’s spirituality.

Anyway,
let me tie this into my courses,
and why they are.

The purpose of Matrix Karate
is to speed up the learning procedure.
What took me a dozen years to figure out,
I want you to figure out in one.
But,
it doesn’t stop there.
All the power and glory
of the classical martial arts
should open up for you.
Once you understand,
once you have the matrix point of view,
the martial arts should open up
like a flower in stop motion sequence.
Click, click, click…
the thoughts and concepts of the arts
explode through your mind.
You suddenly find yourself faster,
more intuitive,
backing out of your body,
gently and with authority.
The space of your time,
grows,
encompasses the world.
The space of your energy,
grows,
surrounds you,
touches the people of earth.

You.

So that is why I put forth Matrixing,
to clean you out,
and make you able
to take advantage
of the millenniums of work
those who have gone before
did for us.
Everything the masters learn,
you can learn,
and in one tenth the time.

I’m not kidding.
So,
Matrix.
And then move into the more classical realms.
They will make so much more sense.
And,
think about your own personal work out,
and make sure you devote a bit of time,
to timing your space,
or spacing your energy.
Do this,
until your whole art glows.

Talk to you later
Al

BY THE WAY!
GO TO THIS LINK AND GET 25% OFF
EVOLUTION OF AN ART!
HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

http://www.monstermartialarts.com/Special_Evolution_of_an_Art_Price!.html

DO IT NOW
BECAUSE THE PAGE WON’T BE UP LONG!

I like the following quote, because it is wrong.Theory is not useless, unless it is the wrong theory. And after you’ve practiced the theory is not obvious, or somebody would have discovered matrixing long before this…

Before you’ve practiced, the theory is useless. After you’ve practiced, the theory is obvious. (David Williams, Ashtanga teacher)

So ends the newsletter on advanced martial arts theory. Go to MonsterMartialArts(dot)com and sign up for the newsletter if you want more.

Leave a Reply

