Making a Martial Arts Plan and Sticking To It!


chi power
If you want to make it in this world,
and I am not just talking the martial arts,
you have to do a couple of things.

Look people in the eye,
work hard,
plan.

You look people in the eye because,
darn it,
you can’t fight what you can’t face.

Don’t unfocus your eyes and try to look at everything.
I know it is a good way to tap into perceptions,
but if you practice looking people in the eye,
you will learn to trust what you know.

Here’s what people don’t understand about looking people in the eye.
They think they can be fooled.
But,
if you practice looking people in the eye,
you will eventually learn
not to be distracted by your perceptions,
and that includes what you see with your eyes.

Hey,
you are not your eyeballs,
they are just the windows to your soul.
So don’t look with your eyeballs,
learn to look with your soul.
Learn to trust what you know,
that is the real path.

Now,
point two,
work hard.
Let me ask you a question,
how much down time do you have during the day?
I was talking to a fellow I was doing some work for,
he was a boss,
and he said that most people
have as much as fifty per cent downtime.
Time they are walking to the water cooler,
preparing for lunch,
yakking with the guy next to him,
and so on and so on.

Mind you,
he wasn’t upset,
he just knew that people don’t work as hard for others
as they would for themselves.
He would encourage people to get back to work
as politely as possible,
and he was always on the lookout
for the guy who worked hard,
wasn’t distracted,
because that was the guy who could learn
could be in charge,
who was willing.

Willingness is key here.

Third,
plan.
Don’t just work for somebody,
work for somebody and have a plan.
Don’t just flake off after work,
or before work…
have a plan.

You like martial arts?
Get books,
watch movies,
peruse the internet,
figure out what you have to do
to get better and better and better.

Follow your passion,
but do it with a logical approach.
Talk to other people,
find out what they think,
adjust your plan accordingly.

Do you want to teach martial arts in a year or two?
Sooner?
Do you want to open a school?
Do you want to win at freestyle?
Then find out what it is going to take,
and make a plan,
and stick to it!

I was in a union once,
and they were striking,
and I refused to.
I was getting death threats,
people were banging my car with their signs when I cross the picket line,
and I was very unpopular.
But my plan did not include getting fired,
getting fired would get in the way of things.
After it was all over
I was talking to one of the union leaders.
He was upset with me,
wanted to let me know,
and I asked him,
‘Do you go to school?’
He looked blank.
I continued,
‘Do you take a class somewhere?
Do you go somewhere and read books?
What do you want to do after the union?’
He remained blank.
He is probably blank to this day.
But he was using the union
to get more money.
I was using work
to make a martial arts plan,
to get where I was going.
To improve myself,
so I could make more than I could make
as a member of a union.

Now,
this is not a diatribe against unions,
just an encouragement.
Wherever you work
work hard,
but work with a plan,
and don’t let anybody get in your way.

Okay,
I hope I have encouraged you,
made you think,
and shone a little light
on your path.
So let me offer something.
I do martial arts every day.
I never miss.
Ever.
I also do Yoga.
And this is part of my plan.
I simply need to be in the best shape I can be
so that I can continue doing what I love to do
until the day I die.
You know where my website is,
and the link to the Yoga is below,
so you guys and gals have a great and wonderful day,
remember that you are the cream of the crop,
and planet earth needs your honor and hard work.
Needs it rather desperately.

Now,
go work out
and I’ll talk to you later.

Al

I do yoga so that I can stay flexible enough to kick my own arse if necessary.–Betsy Garmon
Yoga is the perfect opportunity to be curious about who you are.–Jason Crandell
Don’t just do something – sit there!–Author Unknown

Go to the Yogata link,

http://www.monstermartialarts.com/Yogata.html

get an instant download,
and put your body in the best shape it can be in.
Better than football training,
better than military training,
Yogata
will work every single muscle in your body,
and you will be faster than a Cheetah,
stronger than a gorilla,
and as light as a feather.

Leave a Reply

