The Dangers of Coiling Energy in Tai Chi, Pa Kua Chang, and Pan Gai Noon


It’s odd how these concepts roll around and collide with each other. I see them in all arts, but they seem strongest in the arts of Tai Chi Chuan and Pa Kua Chang and Pan Gai Noon. What’s not funny is how you can endanger the body as you cross engineer certain concepts. Check out the video, then I’ll tell you about it.

The first concept was exploding energy. That’s the simplest one, and it pops up through all arts quickly, and I found it in Karate. Unfortunately, I found that at a certain point it was causing me severe migraines; I was suffering whiplash from the power I was exploding through my body.

Normally, most people not studying the martial arts long enough, people won’t find this. But if you are a long termer, like myself, then you will tend to get a little out of your body, and that’s when energy starts to bite back. The solution was simply to hit softer, and put more intention in your strike; do less and intend more, that’s the key, and it is a matter of developing willpower.

Coiling power came about after exploding power, and through my study of Tai Chi Chuan. Quickly, I realized that I could use this power in Pa Kua Chang. The stances and the lengths of time, however, kept the power under control.

And, I found that Karate was similarly long in stance, and didn’t force too much power through the frame. Where I found problems was with Pan Gai Noon. The stances are short, hourglass stances, and you explode, and then twist, the power up the frame.

The power moves through the body like a freight train, and the body just can’t handle it. It took a couple of months, but I started having weird tingles in my body, and my back started hurting. I knew intuitively what was happening.

Corkscrewing the power through my compacted stances was popping bones out of my spine. Again, the solution was simple. All I had to do was back off on the power, create more space in my frame, and lessen the snap. The result was a more mental approach to the martial arts technique and concept.

It’s funny how we all love power, are enamored by power, want more and more sheer power. Greedy gluttons that we are, we don’t realize that true power comes not from the magnitude of energy, but from the degree of softness within. To create true power, and to make it past the barriers established by the finiteness of our bodies, we need to create more space, before and after our martial arts movements, and within our tempered bodies, and that is how you avoid the danger of coiling power in Tai Chi Chuan, Pa Kua Chang, and Pan Gai Noon.
Click over to Monster Martial Arts if you would like to learn more about energy and how to use it in such arts as Tai Chi Chuan, Pa Kua Chang, Pan Gai Noon, and other martial arts.Pick up a free book on the home page.

3 thoughts on “The Dangers of Coiling Energy in Tai Chi, Pa Kua Chang, and Pan Gai Noon

  1. Chuck Dixon

    The Taichichuan Cassics say you should suspend your head as if it is held by a string from above. I think that is misleading. What you really need to do is leave your head where it is and drop your body. What this does is separate your head from the fa jing path. I used to practice my slow set with subtle fa jing all the way through for an hour and was getting it vibrating in my head which caused headaches. Once I realized the problem, and dropped my body no more headaches.

    Reply
  2. spawn

    before trying techniques, you need to develope the right kind of body for these energies, Sifu He JingHan showed me that you have to expand spine and sacrum, sacrum can be opened by goat clamping stance, hips strengthened by horse stance and low circle walking, and horse stance ‘bumping’ and so on.. also the spine can be strengthened and made flexable over years by doing spinal wave for 10 mins a day very gental, no force, no hurt! over time things develop into the right kind of body to perform the actions,.. cant run before you can walk 🙂 Master He JingHan does have some videos on youtube, and some books available, although i dont practice bagua, i do use these bagua training methods and found his knowlage very deep

    Reply

Leave a Reply

