The First Day of Kenpo Karate Instruction and What It Meant!


I had tied my pants and pulled my Karate gi across my chest and the instructor was showing me how to tie my belt. It was my first day of Kenpo Karate Instruction, and can you believe it? Proud because I learned how to tie a belt. That was in Nov of 1967. Check out the video, then I’ll tell you what happened to me.

I went through many belts, changed arts, got my black belt, studied many different art, wrote about what I had studied and became a writer and columnist for the magazines.
I’ve written near two million martial arts related words now.
And I don’t wear a gi. I wear the Karate pants and a tee shrit, and I stop during the day and work out wherever I am. Under trees, in meadows,on the beach…on building tops in basements in garages.
Wherever I am a work out, my life is nothing but a work out, and a sheer joy because of it. 1967. Hunh! Who would’ve thought? Yet it was all so worth it, so very worth it. If you want to know some of the things I’ve picked up over the last almost forty-five years, drop by Monster Martial Arts. A free martial arts book is available there.

Leave a Reply

